Maybe you run a busy WooCommerce store from your warehouse. Alternatively, you have a spare TV screen in the office and don’t know what to do with it. Even better, you’ve been asked to show orders in real time, as they come in. Possibly, you’ve looked for a way to show data and statistics in real time without refreshing your Google Analytics dashboard or the WooCommerce Reports section.
What we’re talking about here is specifically finding a way to show your WooCommerce real-time orders, custom stats dashboards and custom graphs on a TV screen.
And today this is possible thanks to a new feature released by Bryce Adams, founder and developer of Metorik (of which I’m an active customer as you can see from the screenshots).
We already covered the ins and outs of advanced WooCommerce tracking (i.e. the WooCommerce default reports are quite poor, so I’ve introduced you to 2 alternatives there), so I don’t want to repeat myself in this blog post.
So, how do you enable real-time tracking and order notifications on a TV screen? Continue reading WooCommerce: How to Watch Orders & Data in Real-Time on TV?
I had the pleasure to speak at WordCamp Milano 2018, and I had a blast! I believe the topic was pretty interesting, so you all deserve a long post recap with actionable tips and screenshots to understand basic WooCommerce SEO (video of the presentation will be available soon).
The following WooCommerce Search Engine Optimization tips are mostly non technical, and are aimed at WordPress and WooCommerce users who never heard of “schema”, “long tail”, “301” and “hreflang” (although if you did, please have a read anyway, make sure to post a comment and contribute to this post with your expertise).
The thing is – SEO is never going to die. Besides, Google & co. constantly improve their website ranking algorithms. This means what you learned 5 years ago in regard to SEO might not work today, and what you learn today might not work in 2 years time… you get the point.
In this blog post, we will analyze and study 27 evergreen SEO factors for WooCommerce websites. These should be applied (or not applied, as there are many “not to do” tips as well) to your ecommerce website at all costs if you believe you deserve better ranking (who doesn’t?). And as they’re evergreen, they’re likely not to go away for a few years at least 🙂
So, let’s get started!
Continue reading WooCommerce: 27 SEO Tips (For Non-Techies)
AOV a.k.a. Average Order Value is one of the most important ecommerce metrics. It describes the average order total in a given period of time. If this year your WooCommerce website converted 150 orders and made $30,000 in revenue, your AOV for this year is $30,000/150 = $200 (i.e. on average, you can expect each order to be $200).
FYI, the meaning of AOV is the same for any ecommerce platform, but in this article we’ll talk just about WooCommerce. In our opinion WooCommerce is a better, more cost-effective solution than Shopify or other counterparts.
If you don’t know what your WooCommerce store AOV is, immediately go to WordPress Dashboard > WooCommerce > Reports > Orders > Sales by Date > Year and divide “net sales in this period” by the number of “orders placed”. But be careful – those reports are sometimes not correct (I know WooCommerce is working on this at the moment). Mine is giving me AOV = €2… and I know that’s not right.
Your best bet is your Google Analytics account (as long as you’re using the official WooCommerce – Google Analytics integration) and/or your Metorik reports (here’s an article you should read if you need to know how to install reliable WooCommerce tracking, reporting, filtering and segmenting: https://businessbloomer.com/advanced-woocommerce-tracking-analytics-reports-exports-segmentation/). My Metorik dashboard tells me my WooCommerce website AOV for this year is €233 so far – I can trust this one for sure.
So the question is: how can we get our WooCommerce customers to spend more? Well, here’s a list of WooCommerce plugin alternatives you can install right now to boost your AOV.
In fairness, who wouldn’t want some extra revenue? 🙂
Continue reading WooCommerce: How to Increase Average Order Value?
Ok, we all know that the EU General Data Protection Regulation (GDPR) will come into force on the 25th May 2018.
So the main question is: what changes do we need to make on our WooCommerce website to become compliant? And another important query might be: how does GDPR affect non-European WooCommerce websites?
In this article, I will tell you EXACTLY what you need to do. There are a million articles and plugins on WordPress GDPR compliance, but there is no “ultimate” blog that tells you what you should be doing.
If you don’t know what GDPR is or need a good refresher, read Wikipedia’s GDPR page or the “Introduction to GDPR Compliance for WooCommerce Stores” on the official WooCommerce blog.
Many blogs I’ve read and WordCamp events I’ve attended didn’t really give me the answers I needed. I don’t particularly care about GDPR itself, I just want to know what I need to do on my WooCommerce website.
So, let’s see what changes you’re required to make.
Please note: I’m not a lawyer and cannot guarantee this article is going to make you 100% compliant – make sure to assess your GDPR compliance with a qualified consultant.
Continue reading WooCommerce: How To Make A Website GDPR Compliant? (12 Steps)
If your WooCommerce store already generates a few orders per month, then it’s probably the right time to step up and start analyzing your ecommerce data.
Despite the “WooCommerce > Reports” tab within the WordPress dashboard can give you sales figures, stock takes and customer lists – we all know that’s a very basic, limited functionality. It gives you CSV export but no automation. There are no filters and no segments. It’s accurate but still not enough.
Data plays a vital role on your WooCommerce website. If you can get access to a wider range of figures, reports, screens, calculations, exports, filters, integrations, then it’s very likely you can understand how to increase your profits.
Data can help you identify problems (hello, cart abandonment – biggest responsible for low conversion rates), can help you select popular products for your cross-sell and up-sell strategy, can give you a hint on how to improve the user experience and have them check out faster – as well as giving you a hand analyzing patterns, performances and customer behavior.
In this (very long) post, we’ll take a look at ways to gather ecommerce data beyond the default “Reports” section, generate email digests, print advanced reports, filter and segment orders and customers, and much more. I will be referring to the two biggest tracking software for WooCommerce: Google Analytics and Metorik. Continue reading WooCommerce Advanced Tracking: Analytics, Reports, Exports, Segmentation
Due to hyper growth & increasing reach of the internet (more precisely 1 million new users each day), more brick and mortar stores are now open to the idea of opening their own online store. Reaching bigger demographics and ability to sell 24 hours outweighs everything.
Since WordPress is affordable & easy to use and manage, a lot of people (27% of all websites are powered by WordPress) builds their website with WordPress. And if they aspire to run a full fledged ecommerce store on WordPress, there is no better alternative available than WordPress default ecommerce plugin, WooCommerce.
WooCommerce is the best free ecommerce plugin for WordPress. Every day thousands of aspiring business owners install WordPress & WooCommerce to fulfill their dream & reach to a new height. There is no indication that this growth will stop anytime soon.
So if you consider yourself a WordPress developer, it’s better to get your hands dirty in WooCommerce development. And here are some of the best developer blogs for learning how to customize WooCommerce.
We’ll kick off the list with the “WooCommerce Developer Blog”, of course. This is the number one blog your should subscribe to because, you know, it’s the official one!
Continue reading WooCommerce: 25 Developers You Should Follow