It’s no secret that the global eCommerce market size is increasing rapidly. Only a couple of years ago, online sales amounted to 17.8% of total sales. That share is supposed to rise to 21% by the end of 2022 and further still to 24.5% by 2025.
As competition heats up, with more players entering the market, customers have more options to choose from. So, how do you thrive in this fiercely competitive atmosphere and maintain your sales growth, while ensuring customer satisfaction?
eCommerce businesses adopt many strategies to entice customers and improve conversion rates. One such effective strategy is offering the Buy One Get One (BOGO) offer and discounts, which helps acquire new customers and turn them into repeat buyers.
Before we explore how you can add BOGO offers to your store to offer discounts to your customers and improve sales, let’s see how exactly such an initiative helps your store’s bottom line.
Continue reading WooCommerce: How To Set Up Buy One Get One Free (BOGO) Offers
Offering discounts is a powerful, time-tested strategy to entice customers and boost sales.
That’s because customers always appreciate a good deal – and helping them save money on products/services they’re interested in is a sure-fire technique to attract them. In fact, nearly 90% of shoppers used a coupon code last year, which shows how much customers value discounts.
Discounts can also help you bring more traffic to your website, encourage shoppers to buy more, and thus, increase sales and revenue. So, they’re a win for both sides.
The good news is WooCommerce offers a solid coupon functionality by default to help you create discounts on your store.
While it’s great to get started, WooCommerce Discount plugins can come in handy for more advanced features like bulk-generating coupons, restricting discounts to specific users, or creating deals like Buy One Get One (BOGO).
This article will explore some plugins that can help you implement a discount strategy on your store in just a few clicks and “woo” your customers.
Let’s dive in!
Continue reading WooCommerce: How to Offer Advanced Discounts
I had the pleasure to speak at WordCamp Prague 2019. I spoke about “10 PHP Snippets to Increase WooCommerce Sales” and managed to show some simple coding to the audience. Trust me – increasing your WooCommerce sales can also be done with a free, short, easy PHP snippet.
So, given that I want to share all the snippets I talked about, this is a quick recap. Copy them, test them (a must!) and then use them. And let me know if your conversion rate and/or AOV (average order value) increased!
At the bottom of the page you also find my talk slides. Enjoy:)
Continue reading WooCommerce: 10 Easy Snippets to Increase Your Sales
AOV a.k.a. Average Order Value is one of the most important ecommerce metrics. It describes the average order total in a given period of time. If this year your WooCommerce website converted 150 orders and made $30,000 in revenue, your AOV for this year is $30,000/150 = $200 (i.e. on average, you can expect each order to be $200).
FYI, the meaning of AOV is the same for any ecommerce platform, but in this article we’ll talk just about WooCommerce. In our opinion WooCommerce is a better, more cost-effective solution than Shopify or other counterparts.
If you don’t know what your WooCommerce store AOV is, immediately go to WordPress Dashboard > WooCommerce > Reports > Orders > Sales by Date > Year and divide “net sales in this period” by the number of “orders placed”. But be careful – those reports are sometimes not correct (I know WooCommerce is working on this at the moment). Mine is giving me AOV = €2… and I know that’s not right.
Your best bet is your Google Analytics account (as long as you’re using the official WooCommerce – Google Analytics integration) and/or your Metorik reports (here’s an article you should read if you need to know how to install reliable WooCommerce tracking, reporting, filtering and segmenting: https://businessbloomer.com/advanced-woocommerce-tracking-analytics-reports-exports-segmentation/). My Metorik dashboard tells me my WooCommerce website AOV for this year is €233 so far – I can trust this one for sure.
So the question is: how can we get our WooCommerce customers to spend more? Well, here’s a list of WooCommerce plugin alternatives you can install right now to boost your AOV.
In fairness, who wouldn’t want some extra revenue? 🙂
Continue reading WooCommerce: How to Increase Average Order Value?
Case scenario: if you add a product ID to cart with a specific, you want another product automatically added to cart (Buy One Get One, or “BOGO”).
This second product should have price = 0 if you wish to completely give it away, or maybe a set sale price. It should also be set to “hidden” because maybe you want to hide this free product from the shop and only gift it when the first one is added to Cart.
Also, if you remove product 1, the gifted product should go away from the Cart too. So here follows the PHP snippet of course!
Continue reading WooCommerce: “Buy One Get One” (Without a Plugin!)